Was This View Worth It?

Nothing but cloud!

Nothing but cloud!

You bet your ass it was!  I went up the Grouse Grind in one hour and 44 minutes.  I can still hardly believe it!  I actually thought my new little iPod was malfunctioning for a moment.  I didn’t just shave off a few minutes.  I chopped off an arm and a leg!  Well, maybe just an arm.  But what a difference a year makes.  The last time I hiked up the Grouse Grind was last year on July 13, 2013.  And I did that in two hours and 23 minutes.  I cut of 39 minutes.  Holy Crap that was hard!  It took me about 20 minutes to get to the 1/4 mark and this time around I did find the 1/4 sign.  In fact, I managed to see all the signs.  I had anticipated finishing this Grind in about 2 hours, same as with the BCMC trail last week.  The one difference with this hike was the time crunch.  I had a 4 year old’s birthday party to attend.  But even then I wasn’t actually rushing.  I had timed it just right that even if I finished with the same time as last year, I’d still be able to make it back home in time to shower and get to the party.

I had actually planned on hiking this yesterday but I think I semi-injured myself, or maybe injured is too strong of a word.  I semi-made-myself-too-sore after my run and kickboxing class on friday so I ended up taking a couple of ibuprofens with a sleep aid and, well, I slept really well.  So well that I slept in on Saturday so there was no point in going, plus my legs were still sore so I decided to wait and see how I felt this morning.  And I woke up feeling good.  So off I went!  And I am so glad I went.  One hour and 44 minutes!  I don’t like to brag, but I never ever thought I’d get a time that was less that two hours!  Even with the new and improved sections on the Grind, it was still hard.  After hitting the 1/2 mark, I had to stop and snack on a granola bar.  Even my jaws were tired.  But I couldn’t head back down.  But while I sat there slowly chewing on the most difficult granola bar ever, I heard someone say that the longest part was done, that the next two sections were the shortest, but also the hardest.  Shortest?  I liked that!  Hardest?  But it’s short.  I could live with short and hard.  He wasn’t kidding.  It definitely was hard.  And I actually have to agree, it was short.  Short and hard.  Thankfully I had my trusty iPod and my playlist and funny enough as I was struggling towards the 3/4 mark, Jakob Dylan’s Everybody’s Hurting started to play.  Very fitting!  And amazingly perfect timing since this was probably the most difficulty section of the Grind.  I still have to agree with last years assessment.  I prefer the BCMC trail.  And given a choice, I will stick with the BCMC trail, even though I only cut off 25 minutes from my BCMC time compared to 39 minutes for the Grind.  I actually don’t quite understand how that could be. I found the Grind much more difficult and yet there is more time cut off with this hike than from last week’s hike.  Oh well.  Perhaps when I do the BCMC again, I can cut off a little bit more time.  Either way, I’m very pleased with both times for both hikes.  But as I said, I prefer the BCMC and it is for the exact same reasons as last year.  The Grouse Grind is all stairs, whether it be man-made stairs or roots and rock stairs, it is still stairs.  It is less natural than the BCMC.  And the Grouse Grind really has too many people on it.  So it’s not as enjoyable, especially if you encounter people pushing passed you.  The least you could do was say excuse you!  And Passing is on the LEFT hand side!  It was only one person but even so, How Rude!  But there was lots of other people who were quite inspiring.  There were the dads with with kids on their back and then there was Grandpa who was making his way up passed everyone, including the rude girl.  You Go Grandpa!  And Grandpa was polite too!  If Grandpa could do it, then so could I and perhaps he had some more influence than I thought since I didn’t just shave a few minutes from my previous time…

I chopped off an arm and a leg worths of time!  I don’t know if I’ll be walking or hobbling tomorrow, but it was so worth it!

My trusty hiking shoes got me up the Grind!

My trusty hiking shoes got me up the Grind!

One thought on “Was This View Worth It?

I'd love to hear from you!

