A New Hiking Season!

The summer hiking season has started!  Hurray!  My first hike since returning from New Zealand, took me up Grouse Mountain via the BCMC trail.  I think this was a good hike to start the season with.  It hasn’t changed much at all since last year.  It was still mosquito free which was a relief.  However due to the time of year, it was a little muddier, the rocks and roots were a little more slippery, but luckily, there was no snow on the trail.  I only saw one patch of snow and that was very near the top of the trail and it was just off to the side of the gravel road at the top.  I was so looking forward to this day.  I knew I would be going on a hike, I just wasn’t sure which one since I didn’t know if I’d have company or not.  I didn’t have company this time.  So I chose the BCMC.

If you are planning on hiking the BCMC trail, please remember to stay focussed.  About 3 quarters of the way up the trail, a lady in front of me fell down a few steps and onto her back.  I don’t know quite what happened, since I was focussed on the roots in front of me, but I heard her cry out along with her friends.  When I looked up, she was on her back and her friends were supporting her.  Her friends waved me on when I offered to call for help.  In this day and age, everyone has a cell phone so my offer was unnecessary.  But they thanked me and I kept on going.

It is still just as difficult as I remember.  I still had the heart pounding and the pulse racing and the sweat dripping.  I was probably not a sight to behold.  The hike certainly made me think I was unhealthy and out of shape.  And yet, it actually didn’t feel as bad after I was done.  Even better was when I reached the top and saw that my time was 2 hours and 2 minutes.  I was super pleased, since the last time I went up this trail, it took me 2 hours and 25 minutes.  However while headed up this trail, my iPod nano that travelled with me throughout the last year on all my hikes and all the way to New Zealand with me, died on the the trail.  First the music stopped playing, but the stop watch function was still working so I wasn’t too worried.  And when I got to the top, it was still working but by that time I got back to the car, it was dead.  And not because it had no batteries.  It was not functioning.  Buttons weren’t working and when I plugged it into my computer it was not recognized by iTunes.  Oh, my trusty little iPod.  You were so helpful during all that training and you were a great little companion throughout my travels in New Zealand.  Now I have to send you to recycle heaven.

Sorry, back to the trail.  Like I said, it hasn’t changed.  Unlike the Grouse Grind, where new steps were put in and sections of the trails were improved, there was no such improvement for the BCMC trail other than a few downed trees that were cut up so that the paths were free.  There was one sign that I noticed, but I don’t know if it’s new or not.  I just don’t remember it.  But it had me stumped for a minute.  The choice was to go left for the Pipeline or right for the Sun view.  I chose left, only because I remember following a pipe to the top.  But next time, I might try out the Sun view.

When I got to within two minutes of the top, I saw about half a dozen men headed down the trail.  Fire Rescue.  Oh dear.  I guess the lady couldn’t continue up.  I do hope she is alright.  When I reached the top, I got a high five from a complete stranger.  I forgot how friendly hiker’s were.  I am so going to enjoy this season.

I'd love to hear from you!

