How Civilized!

20140505-211712.jpgThe other day after my run (last minute change instead of going on a hike), I decided to go out to my favourite tea shop for some lunch. The Secret Garden Tea Company. I had already spent an hour in the drizzle, and thank goodness it was drizzle because running in the rain that appeared later in the day would’ve just sucked and I was now seeking a little civilized comfort! I can’t remember how I discovered this place. It may have been with one of my sisters. But I do know that this was where I was first introduced to Afternoon Tea. Their selection of tea is quite amazing. I always love Earl Grey and that day I had their French Earl Grey. Yum. Their food choices are also very good. I love their Chicken Pot Pie. The crust is flaky and super delicious, perfect comfort food, but on this day, after all the hard work of running up a hill, I was not gonna wreck it with a pie. I decided to have their “Taste of the Garden” which is half a sandwich from the menu, a cup of soup and a garden salad with dressing on the side. I had their egg salad sandwich on a croissant, and their tomato soup. You can’t go wrong with tomato soup, that and I didn’t like the other choice of soup. Their quiche of the day did sound delicious, but I wanted something green and leafy. Afterwards, I had to pick something from their dessert tray. Chocolate Eclair. Normally I would say it was good, and it was, but I think my palette has changed and the taste of the cream filled centre was no longer something I enjoyed, much to my dismay. Ever since I went dairy free, it’s been hard to go back. Not that I really want to go back to dairy but to not enjoy cream in an eclair? I probably should’ve picked the lemon tart. Did I wreck my run by having a chocolate eclair? Maybe. But on this rainy, dreary day, it was worth it!

2 thoughts on “How Civilized!

    • An eclair is a french word. Not sure about the direct translation but basically it’s a puff pastry usually filled with cream and is covered in chocolate, like a chocolate covered cream puff. Not like a doughnut at all. A doughnut is deep fried, whereas the puff pastry is baked, then cooled and then filled with the cream and then covered with chocolate. Yummy!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

