There’s No Backing Out Now!

I have signed up for the Vancouver Sun Run, along with 48,000 plus people.  I have decided against going to Las Vegas with my friends to run 10km around Vancouver.  Is that nutty?  No, I don’t think so.  And my friend Nicole pretty much knew that I would not be going with her to Vegas.  Say hello to everyone for me.  Have a great time!  I know you will.

My first weekend back home has been rough, mainly with the jet lag and now with the clock change for daylight savings time, I am so thankful I am able to book off Monday to try to readjust.  I am also one year older now, and hopefully one year wiser as well.  There’s nothing like spending your birthday with four toddlers who have so much energy that one would think we pumped liquid sugar into their system (which we did not).  It was great.  And it was great to see the rest of the family as well and reminiscing about the trip.

I will have to start training again for the run.  I’ve already been back to my kickboxing class, twice now.  And I guess it was revenge on my Nicole’s part for having ditched her for two whole months, but did you really need to drop me on the head! and kick me in the gut a couple of times!  Good Job You!  I knew you’d kick my butt when I returned, I just wasn’t expecting it to be so brutal.  But still, I loved it and I can’t wait till next week’s class.  I can already feel myself getting back into the routine of spinning, kickboxing, undecided, spinning, kickboxing, undecided, hiking, repeat.  My undecided days will have to include a running day since I’ve got a 10km race, one where I want to beat my Wellington time.  And I am seriously thinking about signing up for the half marathon in June, just to see how I do.  But it’s those undecided days.  What do I do with the undecided days?  Should I take up a new class?  I know my co-worker will say I need a rest day.  And logically I should have a rest day but…it feels like a waste.  I could be feeling it now because I’m being deceived by the weather.  Since I’ve returned, it’s been raining non stop, but today, it actually turned out to be a lovely day.

There was blue sky and cloud and sunshine and I had a late lunch with my friend Irene.  I tried to get the restaurant to recreate a flat white.  It was a good attempt.  A latte with an extra shot of espresso and half the foam.  It was a very nice way to spend my day.  She’s off to Peru in April.  Very Brave.  I haven’t done any research on Peru, but I don’t think I’d be brave enough to go there.  I’ll have to hear her stories before I make any decision about going to South America.  Of course my Doubtful Sound kayaking buddy, Paul, did say he was going to bike around South America.  I’ll have to check out his youtube videos and see how he’s doing with that.

I also started a new knitting project.  Sorry Feather and Fan scarf.  You’ve been put on the back burner again.  I have started The Mere stole with my Misti Alpaca yarn that I brought back from New Zealand.  When I get a few more rows on the needle, I’ll have a picture for you all, until then you can take a look at the pictures from the designer’s own blog site.  The Mere pattern was inspired by the Dead Marshes.  And the Kepler Mere, which was where the Dead Marshes was filmed was one the coolest places that I saw while in New Zealand, mainly because I was in a helicopter for the first time.  Oh New Zealand!

Have a good week everyone!  Luv, Aunty!

I'd love to hear from you!

