T’was the night…

It is Christmas Eve.  And my hopes for a white Christmas have been dashed.  72 hours after our fantastic snowstorm, it is all gone, thanks to 48 hours of rain and drizzle and warm temperatures.  There isn’t a trace of any of the white stuff anywhere in Vancouver.  And the chances of a miraculous overnight snow fall are a big fat zero.  Oh well.  It was nice while it lasted. 

Christmas feels a little strange this year.  I have no mad dash to finish anything.  All the presents are completed.  My trip has pretty much taken precedence over everything else and all the major prep and pack was finished just this weekend.  I don’t have a family dinner to go to tonight.  It’s just me and  Poh Poh tonight.  And even then, I’m thinking about my trip rather than about Christmas.  There is a project that I am contemplating to start tonight, in hopes of finishing it before Baby N’s first birthday, but that may be hoping for too much.  But I’ll give it a go.  Tomorrow will be a quiet day as well.  I am looking forward to an early morning Christmas run in the neighbourhood.  I know, strange.  But that’s what happens to me when I can’t get my spinning fix or my kickboxing fix.  I need to go for a run.  And the weather is supposed to be warm and dry tomorrow.  So, why not?  The busy day will be on the 26th, and not because it is Boxing day, but because that is the family Christmas dinner.  I may attempt some Boxing day shopping but I might just decide to go for a run instead.  With only 9 days to go, I don’t feel the need to add anymore clutter to my life, especially since I won’t really have too much time to enjoy it before I head off.  And really, I just want to relax and enjoy the last few days at home with the family before I’m off and away.  I have never enjoyed Christmas crowds and Boxing day crowds are even worse so I’m perfectly content to stay at home, even if it’s by myself.  Shopping crowds just seems to emphasize the wrong aspects of Christmas.  Rather than spending time in the mall, in the lineups amongst strangers, I look forward to spending time with my family, especially the kids.  I know I will only be gone for two months, but that’s two months where I won’t get any hugs and kisses from nieces and nephews.  I won’t be greeted with smiles as I open the door, of course I won’t be at work either but it’s the kids I will miss the most.  So I will spend a quiet few days at home with the kids while I still can.

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday.  Have a Merry Christmas!  And if yours is a white one, please throw a snowball for Auntie!

I'd love to hear from you!

