Who Doesn’t Love Snow?

We knew it was coming.  The city said it would be prepared.  But when it hit, the city slowed to a crawl.  Snow!  Massive amounts of snow.  It was fantastic, if you didn’t have to drive in it.  It was still okay if you were driving in it, if you had snow tires, if you didn’t have to drive behind someone who didn’t have snow tires.  I was driving in it, luckily with snow tires.  And what normally would’ve been a 20 minute drive, turned into an hour long drive.  Some of the hilly streets had to be closed due to the snow.  It was coming down like crazy all over the Lower Mainland.  And my outings still were not finished.  After my morning tryst, I was supposed to meet up with my friend Irene.  She had just returned from her overseas trip and I wanted to see her before I took off for my overseas trip.  Luckily the snow had started to taper off by the time I headed out for the second time in the day.  And then my third outing was to go and visit with Sister C and family.  As I made my way up the path to their house, I could see remnants of a snow fort and then as I rounded the corned to the backyard, I could see attempts of a snowman.  I believe a niece and nephew had a lovely time outside.  But I’ll never know for sure because when I entered the house, I was greeted by a sad Big Sister Z.  Apparently she had just finished watching Frosty the Snowman and was quite traumatized when Frosty melted and then when he went away to the North Pole for the year.  Oh dear.  Tina had warned me about Frosty the Snowman.  But I hadn’t put much thought into it.  A few days before Big Sister Z, Little Brother Z and I were watching Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer and when the Abominable snow monster made his appearance, I could see the worry on their faces and soon they were huddled around me as we watched the rest of the cartoon.  And every time the monster made an appearance, it was “Don’t worry.  It’s the monster.  But everyone will be okay.  You’ll be okay.”  I wonder if Sister C and Husband were watching Frosty with the kids or if they were left to watch on their own.  I wonder what cartoon they will experience in the coming days.  Maybe Charlie Brown will be a good one.  But I think they talk too much in that one, at least for a 4 year old and a 2 1/2 year old.  Well, after my visit, I had one more outing.  My kickboxing class.  I arrived there safely and returned home safely.  The snow had stopped by that time but the smaller roads were still slushy and if you didn’t have snow tires, you were bound to get stuck.

Well, we are done for the snow, I think.  We will have a white Christmas, which we haven’t had in a long time.  I’m quite pleased about that, but it might be patchy snow.  The temperatures are supposed to warm up by Monday and the returning rain showers will probably wash away a good portion of the white stuff.  But then we are supposed to get snow showers on Boxing day.  Hmmm.  I wonder what the driving will be like then?  Especially with all the people headed out looking for good shopping deals.  The long term weather shows more snow to come in the new year but I will be on a plane to New Zealand by then.  I am so glad!  As long as there is no snow to disrupt my flight out, I will love snow.

I'd love to hear from you!

