Whiling Away the Weekend!

A few weekends ago, I had a nice little mini-vacation with Sister W and her family up in Whistler.  It was probably one of the nicest weekends I’ve had in a long time, or at least since deciding to go to New Zealand.  It was nice because I didn’t really do anything for this trip.  Sister W took care of picking the place and the date to go and I just went, along with Poh Poh of course.  The only thing I had to decide on was whether I was gonna incorporate some hikes into this weekend or not.

Not.  I decided it would nice just to keep it simple.  It’s been ages since I’ve been to Whistler and the nice thing about this trip was also because it was a road trip.  Whistler is only 2 hours away from Vancouver.  And ever since the Sea-to-Sky highway was upgraded for the Olympics, the drive has been fantastic.  So I decided to make it an easy-going trip for me and Poh Poh.  However I couldn’t help but include a few small side trips on our way up.

First stop was Shannon Falls, just 10 minutes from Squamish.  Did you know that Shannon Falls was the third highest waterfall in BC?  It is quite an impressive sight and there were many tourists milling about admiring the view.  It’s about a 15 minute walk to the first viewing platform and then another 5 minutes to a higher viewing platform.  And I just discovered on vancouvertrails.com that there is a hike to get to the upper part of Shannon Falls as well.  Or if you prefer, veer off and head up to the Chiefs.  With Poh Poh at my side, we made it as far as the lower platform and then I left her behind to go to the upper platform.  It was a beautiful day.  The sun was out.  There was no sign of rain and in the shade of the trees, we didn’t feel the heat.

Next stop, lunch.  We headed over to Squamish, which wasn’t too far away.  There, we picked the easiest, though not the most healthiest of choices for lunch:  McDonalds.  Now, since I’ve been working out, I have not had too much junk food, and until then, I couldn’t actually remember the last time I stepped into a a McDonalds restaurant.  Let’s just say that by the time we were done, I wished I had brought my hiking gear so I could lose the weight that I was gaining just sitting in that restaurant.  Kidding!  I’m not that psycho.  However it was not a healthy lunch.  I’m not saying it wasn’t yummy, just not healthy.  And I was craving some form of exercise after the last french fry disappeared.  While there, Sister W and family managed to catch up with us so we stuck around a little longer to enjoy Big Sister B and Little Brother N’s company, oh yeah and to enjoy their parent’s company as well.

After lunch we continued along our way.  Poh Poh and I stopped at Brandywine Falls while Sister W and family continued onwards to the hotel.  Another simple walk for me and Poh Poh.  It’s about 15 minutes to Brandywine Falls from the parking lot.  This was also very impressive to see, different from Shannon Falls, not as high, but still a sight to see.  After stopping at the platform, we continued on the path to another platform for a view of Daisy Lake.  If you look in the opposite direction from Daisy Lake, you’ll see an interesting formation at the top of the mountains.  That would be Black Tusk.  I think I would like to hike that.  However I also think that I have run out of long days and there is not enough daylight for me to hike to Black Tusk and return in the same day.  And since I have no interest in camping overnight, I will probably have to wait till next summer when the days are longer.

After our little side trip we made it to Whistler and the hotel, The Coast Blackcomb Suites.  It’s was a pretty good hotel.  Continental breakfast was included.  However there was no air-conditioning and we were on the top floor, and this particular weekend was particularly hot.  We did have fans in the room, but still it was hot.  Oh well, live and learn.  Sister W didn’t think it would still be so hot in September up in Whistler.  So she didn’t think it would be too much of a concern.  Next time, we need to book a place with A/C.  Stay tuned for more on our mini-vacation in Whistler.

I'd love to hear from you!

