Moonlighting

Last week was the mid-autumn festival.  We usually have the cursory mooncake and that’s about as far as we will celebrate this particular festival.  However I had actually hoped to have a lovely moonlight kayaking trip with my friend Tina out on Deep Cove.  But as I mentioned in an earlier post, she broke her rib the week before, so kayaking was out of the question.  But this did give me a chance to go to my cardio kickboxing class that I had just registered for, with Sister C.  We had taken this class before, back in May and June before signing up with Faraaz and his Muay Thai Kickboxing.  The cardio kickboxing class with Josh was pretty good.  I am treating it more as a cardio class rather than kickboxing since I don’t want to ruin my technique with Faraaz.  It was nice to see Josh again.  Did I ever mention that he is from New Zealand?  Coincidence or what?  This time, we signed up for the co-ed class.  The ladies only class was discontinued.  Oh well.  There were quite a lot of women in the class.  Only three men.  So it’s still more like a ladies class anyway.  After class, the moon was high in the sky and looked amazing.  And since I was so darn energized after the class, I decided to head out to somewhere higher to try to get a nice photograph of the full moon.

DSC_0294

After dropping off Sister C at home, I retrieved my camera and headed out to the Cypress lookout.  Clearly I was not the only person who thought it would be a good idea to go out and shoot the moon.  And these people were definitely enthusiasts since they had their tripods all set up.  And after reviewing my photos, I probably should’ve brought my tripod along as well, but I was too lazy and I didn’t want to carry it with me.  Granted, it would’ve been in the car and the amount of “carrying” would have probably been only about 5 minutes worth of time, but still, setting it up in the dark was not something I wanted to do and besides, it was a spur of the moment thing for me to head out to the lookout.  I’m glad I did though, even without my tripod.  The view of Vancouver was beautiful, with all the lights and the moonlight was so bright and beautiful.  I would’ve loved to stay longer but I was still in my workout gear and the night was only getting colder.

What do you think?  Thirty minutes in the cold to see this view?  I think it was well worth it.

DSC_0285

One thought on “Moonlighting

I'd love to hear from you!

