The Plan…Is Always Flexible.

I always have a plan and there’s always a back up to the plan.  But after meeting up with the class on Day three, and chatting with the locals, my original plans as well as my backup plan for the evening was kiboshed.  As one of them said, an ax is an ax, regardless of the size.  And then he was kind enough to add that a covered bridge was a covered bridge, regardless of the length.  However another one suggested I go see the falls and gorge in the very town that I was staying at.  So I did.  There was a little trail along one side going from the Grand Falls generating station all the way to a section of the gorge about 1 km away.  It was very impressive.  The Grand Falls waterfall is the largest waterfall in New Brunswick.  Someone else suggested I do the zip line over the gorge as well.  That was a flat out, No Thanks!  And even when I got there, it was closed.  So couldn’t do it even if I wanted to.  Aww Shucks!  But it was definitely something worth going to see, if you’re staying in the town of Grand Falls.  Check out the pictures.  They don’t fully capture the grandeur of the falls and gorge and really you need to experience it with the sound and the spray hitting your face but this is the best I could do.  I think Mini Aunty liked it to.

DSC_0914

DSC_0913DSC_0926DSC_0920

DSC_0918After my hike up Mt. Carleton the day before, the little hike to see the gorge felt like nothing, but someone had recommended a restaurant for me to go to so I decided that after one dinner consisting of a Tim Horton’s sandwich and another dinner consisting of McDonalds and none of which consisted of crustaceans, I should find a restaurant that at least served seafood.  The one that he recommended was almost impossible to get to, since there was road paving in the vicinity, so I tried Le Grand Saut Ristorante on the main street.  I had their scallops and shrimp dish.  Very tasty.  And then I ordered dessert.  And then I wasted it.  I just couldn’t do it.  After all that hard work with the personal trainer and after all that hard work climbing up the mountain?  Even before my trip out here, I managed to lose 5lbs.  I couldn’t do it.  So I took two bites and then paid the bill and left.  Sigh.  It was really good.  But another funny thing is, since I’ve started working out and stuff, I’ve eaten less and actually wanted to eat more healthy and my sugar cravings are almost reduced to nothing.  Almost.   I know it’s still there, but I also know I can eat something else.  Hmmm.  Anyways, wasted dessert.  That’s painful.  But I’ve also noticed that I practically eat just half the dinner portions now.  Because I’m really not all that hungry.  Hmmm.  But, wasted dessert.

IMG_1916

Before! Chocolate! Peanut Butter!

IMG_1917

After! Such a waste! If there is a next time, I’ll have to ask for just half a serving.

Okay.  Plane’s here.  My next post will be when I return home.  But stay tuned.  I still have Day four and five in New Brunswick to share with you all!

I'd love to hear from you!

