Where are we now?

I have to admit that today’s quote is not from my little black book of quotes. But I think it’s a nice tie-in to my life right now, mentally and physically. I mentioned in my last post that I had met up with my personal trainer, Korri, after a four year hiatus. When I first started with Korri four years ago, I was still on medication. Prior to that I was so depressed, I was losing weight almost every day. I eventually lost about 20 pounds because I had no appetite. I wasn’t really eating and I wasn’t actually hungry. But I looked good. But I wasn’t healthy and I wasn’t happy. And as the medication made me think better, I began to think that it would be nice to try to keep the weight off but in a good way, that and I had 3 weddings to go to in a span of two months that particular year. But I really didn’t know where to start. And by a fluke, since I had lost all that weight, I was able to wear yoga clothes and look good in it. And since this very popular company had a website which I would browse on-line, I came upon their ambassadors page and from there I found Korri.

Remember how far you’ve come, not just how far you have to go. You are not where you want to be, but neither are you where you used to be. – Rick Warren

I like this quote. Because I have come far from where I was four years ago. I complained about the stairs session on Saturday. But four years ago, when I first started with Korri, I probably would’ve stopped and passed out after round 3 of those stairs. I didn’t do great this time, but I did do better. Four years ago, I was on medication, just so I wouldn’t think negative thoughts. Now, when I have negative thoughts, I just have to remember to see it a different way and if that doesn’t work, to leave it behind and not bring it home with me. Four years ago, my work life was horrible, because I saw only negative things. My work life still has negative pieces here and there but for the most part, it’s manageable. And again, I can leave it behind, because my life is not my work. My work allows me to have a life and I have to remember to leave work behind. Four years ago, I could only go around in negative circles. Now I have a goal. And I’m not talking just about my big trip to New Zealand. There are now four little ones that prevent me from going in circles.

I know I still have far to go, especially after my stairs session with Korri. But that’s why it’s called training. You can only improve yourself. Each session will get better. Perhaps I was so pumped from the stairs session, or maybe it’s more of an improved clarity of mind, but my spinning class yesterday was great! Every time it got hard, I just pictured ‘Mt. Doom’ and pushed harder. I also knew that I had already had a hard session with the stairs. Compared to that, spinning was nothing! And really when you finish off the session listening to Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’s “Can’t Hold Us”, how can you not feel great? I love the trumpet section. I am actually picturing myself reaching the top of the mountain every time I hear the trumpets and even more corny, my arms are raised like in “Rocky” when Stallone reaches the top of the stairs. And NO! I have never seen the movie, but that particular scene has been played enough times in the past, you’d have to living in a hole to not know that scene.

Crazy? It’s a good ‘crazy’!

I'd love to hear from you!

