Quick Knit

I just finished this last night and had Sister P help me block out the lace pattern.  I finished sewing it up this afternoon and now I have a pair of Lace-Back Fingerless Gloves to wear while I am knitting.  Just Kidding!  That would be really weird.  I’ve knit this particular pattern before and really liked it, so I decided to knit another pair and this time keep it for myself.

Image

I thought I could knit this up quickly so I could wear it with my recently finished Castle Pullover.  But of course life got in the way and it took a little longer than I though it would.  And it didn’t turn out the way I thought it would.  I followed the pattern almost exactly.  There was only one thing that I did differently and that was the firsts 5 rows of knitting.  The pattern called for using 2.75 mm needles.  I cast on with 3.25 mm needles and knit the first two rows with the same size, then the next two rows I decreased to 3.00 mm needles and then I switched to and finished with the 2.75 mm needles.  Why? You may ask.  Well, My arms are not the same size from elbow to wrist.  I’m a little thicker the further away from my wrist so I figured I should make the end a little looser hence the larger needles.  And it worked.  It fit very nicely.  But after putting it on, I discovered it wasn’t as long as I thought it would be.  And I ended up with more leftover yarn than I thought I would.  So I think that means I’m a tight knitter.  The pattern calls for a total of 11 repeats of the lace pattern.  I probably had enough for 12, maybe 13 repeats.

Photo on 2013-03-29 at 6.04 PM

The other thing was the yarn.  I used the exact same yarn that the pattern calls for.  It was really nice yarn.  100% Merino Wool.  Soo Soft!  But there were some slight discolourations as I was knitting.  There are a total of 6 different, slightly brown spots speckled all over my gloves and OF ALL HORRORS, there was a green spot as well!  And NO, I did not accidentally drop a spot of green ink on the white yarn.  After washing it in the wool rinse, the green faded a little, but it’s still there, as are the brown spots.  Next time, I’ll have to use a coloured wool, but I just thought that the white would match everything.  Hmmm.  What a dilemma.  I really do like the white.  And I really do like the pattern.  And I really think it would look nicer longer.  I might have to knit another pair, but at a later date.  Like after I finish my feather and fan scarf.  And if I knit it longer, I’ll probably have to start with even larger size needles such as a 4mm and maybe even the first repeat will have to be in a larger size needle.

And I actually was thinking about wearing some kind of gloves while knitting.  Maybe it’s my technique, or maybe it’s because I am not used to using stick needles versus circular needles, but the long skinny stick needles kept hitting my pinky finger inside the knuckle.  Think of someone hitting your funny bone and you’ll have an idea of what I’m talking about.  It’s actually not funny and it hurts.  Maybe I’m holding the needles too tight, hence tight knitter and extra leftover yarn.

Now that I think about it, my poor neglected feather and fan scarf may have to be neglected some more because I have a “Mini Aunty” to knit.  Two actually.  One will be for the office map and the other will be the one that travels with me and will be my little mascot in my photos.  I figured that if I’m travelling on my own to New Zealand, I might not be able to shoot very many photos with me actually in it, unless there is a foot or hand shot.  I’m sure I will bump into people who will help me take a photo, but when it’s just me, I’ll make sure that Mini Aunty is in the photo.  That way you’ll know it was MY photo and not an internet photo.  And no, I have no plans on bringing a tripod with me.  Yes, I do have one, but I don’t want to carry the extra weight.  And Yes, I reserve the right to change my mind at a later date about travelling with the tripod.

One thought on “Quick Knit

  1. Pingback: Crafty Shopping! | AuntiesFavourites

I'd love to hear from you!

