World of Crayons

I had a really nice day with the kids yesterday.  So much so I did not realize what was happening in the rest of the world, specifically Boston, until many hours after the explosions.  I don’t have a quote in my book that would fit this sad occasion.  I am as horrified as everyone else is at this tragedy that has occurred.  I managed to watch a few minutes of the evening news before the kids wanted to sit in my lap and watch with me.  Of course I flipped to the Knowledge Network and we watched a few minutes of something less graphic.  But in those few minutes of news, there was already talk about how this incident is another 9/11 and there was speculation on what and how the US president would respond.

I remember 9/11.  I remember the decisions that were made, the responses over the years and the changes that were implemented.  Is our world safer for it?  Perhaps.  But there is still conflict.  There are still bombings.  And then there are more responses, more decisions, more changes all in the name of keeping us safe.

It just seems like a sad, never-ending cycle of “Bad things happened” now we have to have a reaction.  But the reaction seems to illicit more “Bad things happening”.

And this quote is stuck with me right now and makes me worried that we will all go blind.

An eye for and eye only makes the whole world blind – Mahatma Gandhi

I am not foolish enough to think that if we ignore the “bad things”, it will not affect us.  Nor do I think that we should turn the other cheek.  And I have nothing wise to say since I am not a wise person.  But I am worried for the kids and the world that they will learn to know.  And I wonder about “these people” and their kids.  Is it always going to be an “Us vs Them” mentality?  Is the world going to be better place for your kids if manage to get rid of “Us”?  or vice versa?  Would it not be a better world if we understood and accepted the things that made us different?

I will leave you with another quote, one that I think has more hope in it.  I have a friend at work who loves to send out “Friday” emails.  Just fun little emails to end the week on a high note.  I don’t know where he gets them, but I love reading his stuff.  This quote comes from one of his emails.  Thanks Reg.

We could learn a lot from crayons. Some are sharp, some are pretty and some are dull. Some have weird names and all are different colors, but they all have to live in the same box.

Boston, you will definitely be in my thoughts.

I'd love to hear from you!

