Say Something Nice

I remember there was a day where I was feeling really bad at work. I can’t remember if it was before or after I started the medication. Of course there were many bad days, but I remember that this was a very bad day. And it was at a time when I couldn’t even be bothered to fake a smile. But on this day, someone from work, “D”, who I didn’t really know very well, apologized to me for some other co-worker, “G”s, behaviour towards me. Now when “D” spoke to me, I was surprised, and disappointed and happy that he apologized for the behaviour of this horrible person. Surprised because it was an event that I had put out of my mind as best as I could. It was an event that occurred probably a year or two years beforehand. I didn’t forget it. I will always remember it, but I had pretty much moved on from it. Disappointed because it took him so long to apologize, when it wasn’t even something that he did, but he had witnessed it. Disappointed because this horrible person had to leave the workplace before he felt he was able to say something. Happy, that even though it had occurred so long ago, he still felt the need to apologize. I know that just for a short period of time, I felt better. Not Happy, but Better because then I knew that not everyone at work was a vicious, nasty, blood sucking vulture that thought it was okay to pick on the small birds. It was just “G” and a select few. It’s probably been almost 10 years since that incident with “G” and may she get her just rewards, such as a harassment complaint or a code of conduct complaint against her and may all complaints be found valid. NOT that I am holding a grudge or anything. And I wouldn’t have been thinking about this at all except that recently, work had me contacting “D” who has since left the BC branch and transferred to the Ontario branch of the company. At the time when “D” apologized, I was so surprised, I didn’t know what to say. And I never actually told him that it made me feel better, even if it was just for a day. “D” may never realize how significant that moment was, because, really, there was nothing that was making it better for me. And his apology did. It made me feel better just for a day.

So, I finally did it. I would’ve preferred telling it to his face, but instead I used email. I thanked him for what he said way back in the day. And I feel better.

So here is the quote for today. It’s my own quote. And I hope it’s not something I’m stealing from a deep dark memory of a book in my head.

Always say something nice, even if it takes you years to say it. You never know who is having a bad day, whether it is this day or a day from years ago. It may not mean much to you, but it’ll mean the world to the one you say it to. So Say something nice. – AuntiesFavourites

I'd love to hear from you!

