The First Step!

Here it is!  My first travel book on New Zealand!

IMG_1753

I am so excited!  And yes it is a Lonely Planet book.  I love the Lonely Planet!  I used to love watching Pilot Guides on TV and seeing all the different places that Ian Wright, Justine Shapiro and Megan McCormik would be exploring that week.  When I first talked about going to New Zealand, I said would be checking out the internet, but HOLY CROW there is tons of information on the net and it was just a bit overwhelming.  So I had to go by a book.  And of course it included a nice big map.  I love maps.  I might even try to dig into my old National Geographic magazines and see if there are any articles on New Zealand.   Since getting back to work, I’ve been talking about going and I have discovered that one of my co-workers, Tamara spent 4 months in her youth in the area surrounding Nelson.  My friend Marc spent a month there with his in-laws on both islands and coincidentally, while I was re-reading my old blogs in the wee hours of the night, I realized that one of the readers, who “Liked” one of my earlier posts was from New Zealand, specifically Auckland.  Needless to say I have read almost all her posts and I have so many ideas on where to go in and around Auckland.  Thanks Curly Miri!  If anyone is interested, check out her blog. I think she is a really good writer and I particularly like her Thursday Treats category.

I’ve pretty much decided that January is a good time to go, probably the first week after the New year.  If anyone thinks differently, please let me know.  Is the weather really hot at that time?  Is it packed full of tourists then?  Marc went in April and he thought it was nice fall weather.

I was also thinking that 4 weeks would be plenty.  I am set on going on a Hobbit/Lord of the Rings tour.  After talking about it with my sisters, I can’t not go.  I am anticipating that just the tour alone will be about two weeks.  And then afterwards, spend a few days extra in Christchurch, Wellington and then back to Auckland and the surrounding area, before flying home.

Can anyone tell me if there are roundabouts in New Zealand?  Vancouver does not have roundabouts, not real ones.  We have intersections in quiet sleepy neighbourhoods and in the middle of the intersection is a circular thing that prevents us from going straight.  I know that Ireland had roundabouts!  And all I can say is thank goodness it was my sister P who drove and not me.  I can handle driving on the left side of the road with the steering wheel on the right side, but I’m not sure I can deal with real roundabouts.

I haven’t decided on Australia just yet.  If I do include Australia, then perhaps one week in Sydney.  I don’t know yet.  That may require another book.

But first, I’ve gotta read up on New Zealand!

I'd love to hear from you!

