Think on This!

Since I first got sick, I have been working on different methods to see things in a more positive light.  Not all of the things I’ve learned have worked for me.  Some of the basics, like regular exercise and getting more sleep and eating healthy have worked for the most part.  And sometimes I cheat, by going away on a vacation in hopes of escaping from real life.  But I still need things to remind me that things are not as bleak and can get better.  Now, one of the books that my doctor had me read was “Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway” by Susan Jeffers.  When I first flipped through the book, I was so not into the self-help stuff and I was thinking it was kind of lame.  But of course at that time, I was not really thinking straight, hence every thought I had brought me back to “I’m trapped”.  And even when I had read the book, the first time round, I couldn’t get the gist of it.  By the time I got to reading it a third time (because the first and second time didn’t stick, that and my medication was being adjusted, so really, nothing stuck) I was kind of getting it.  And I finally just had to treat it like homework and suck it up and read it.  One of the things that I got from the book was to write down positive things, not just positive events, since at the time no event was positive, but write positive sayings, or quotes that made you feel better, because if you repeat it to yourself enough times, you will start to believe it.  And really the only person who can know what to say to make you feel better, is yourself.  Everyone will make an effort, but you are the only one who knows what is going in inside your head.

Now, when you are in dark place and everything is bad, it’s not so easy to find a positive saying.  In fact it was nearly impossible which is probably another reason I had to read the book three times just to start “getting it”.  But I started by using a lot of sayings from the book.  I wrote them down in my moleskin notebook, yes, WROTE with pen and paper, in very nice cursive handwriting too, and carried that book with me for years.  It was small enough to carry in a purse.  And when I felt really bad, or if I just needed a pick me up, the book would come out and since it was one of those moleskin books, it was very discreet.  I still have my little black book of sayings.  It’s not in my purse anymore, but it’s still around.  I still collect quotes whenever I come across something that I think is worth remembering and re-reading.

I still have the Susan Jeffers book.  I have re-read it a couple of more times since coming off the medication.  It’s six years old now and quite tattered.   I’ve spilled tea on it enough times that it’s all warped and sad looking, but it is the only self-help book I’ll read because, really I’m not into the self-help mumbo jumbo stuff very much.  I prefer reading history books about Queen Elizabeth I and books about animal diseases like Foot and Mouth disease and Mad Cow Disease, oh and Zombies, but that’s another post.

Anyway I’ve decided to share my quotes, sayings, blurbs, etc.  Some of these quotes may do nothing for you, but if it helps anyone just a little bit, just to get through the day, or just to get through an hour of the day, then I’m very glad for it.

I think I’ll make this a weekly “quote” post…which I’ll have to post tomorrow, because it’s late and I have an early morning tomorrow and I have a history of not getting enough sleep.  But how about you think on the quote on my “About” page.

I am only one, but still I am one.  I cannot do everything but still I can do something.  I will not refuse to do the something I can do.”  – Helen Keller

I like this one mainly because it reminds me that Everyone can make a worthwhile contribution, whether you are one or many.

Anyway, I welcome anyone to share a quote.  It doesn’t have to be profound, it just has to work for you.

Okay. Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “Think on This!

  1. I love Winnie the Pooh quotes. Think how simple this one is…..

    “I don’t feel very much like Pooh today,” said Pooh.

    “There there,” said Piglet. “I’ll bring you tea and honey until you do.”
    ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

