Vacay! Yay!

Just Kidding!  I’m not ready to disappear just yet.  I’ve been back to work for almost one week now.  One more day to go to make it an official week.  And I have to say that jet lag really sucks.  There’s no nice way to say it.  No elegant way to say that my time clock is totally messed up.  I haven’t had this much coffee in a very long time.  One Tim’s small double double is my max.  And today I had a medium double double, then a Starbucks Hazelnut Macchiato and then another Tim’s small double double.  Lots of sugar and caffeine.  And still I was a zombie.  And of course now, at 830pm I am wide awake.  And I’ll probably be wide awake at 2am later as well, just like I have been since returning from Hong Kong.  The physical symptoms of sugar high and low, caffeine jitters, and sleep exhaustion reminds me too much of when I was depressed.

TGIF tomorrow.  Then the weekend!  But I have to say that due to my screwed up internal clock, I’ve been doing research on my next vacation.  I am seriously thinking about going to New Zealand.  Yup, Down Under!  I have never been to New Zealand.  I don’t really know anything about it, other than it’s next to Australia and all three Lord of the Rings movies as well as the Hobbit movies were filmed in New Zealand.  

I’ve already looked at some of the themed tours for the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings.  I am so psyched to see Hobbiton, or rather the place where the fictional village of Hobbiton was built.  So guaranteed, I’ll be visiting Matamata.  Just based on the movies, the scenery should be absolutely amazing.  Now I don’t want to be a complete nerd on this trip so I need to get some ideas on what to do and where to go, other than visiting all of Middle Earth.  I’m not into doing the crazy stuff like Bungee jumping.  If anyone has any suggestions on what to do, and where to go in New Zealand, that would be greatly appreciated.  In the meantime, I will continue my search on the web for trip ideas.  I’m thinking that three weeks, maybe four, to include Australia would be more than enough time.  I was also thinking that January would be a good time to go as well.  I picked January only because I know that their summer is our winter.  So if anyone has Australia ideas that would be great top.  I was thinking Melbourne and Sydney, but again I know nothing about these two countries other than there are kangaroos, and kiwi birds and they are completely opposite from us in North America i.e. the seasons are opposites, driving on the other side of the road, water draining down the sink in the opposite direction (REALLY?).  So being a regular traveller to Hong Kong, driving on the other side of the road is not unusual, but if I’m gonna be driving on the opposite side of the road, that might not be so great.  I’m so excited.  I haven’t researched a new vacation place in a long time. Oooh, Does anyone know if there are any good yarn shops there?

2 thoughts on “Vacay! Yay!

  1. New Zealand is beautiful. We have been traveling here for 6+ months now and we love it. January is actually a good time to come as it’s fairly warm, although you should still bring some warmer clothes as the weather can flucuate wildly.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

