Old Friend

It is another beautiful day in Hong Kong. The sun is shining and the breeze is blowing and I will have to say Good-bye very soon. I have done the best I can to fulfill my shopping trip and surprisingly, it has been a rather mellow shopping trip. One of my goals was to discover the yarn shops here in Hong Kong and I have done so. The area that we stayed in this time was great for yarn shops. I found three shops in our area alone and then another on Hong Kong Island. There were a couple more on the island but I just never got around to going there. It’s a little strange to stand in front of yarn that you can’t touch. Everything was in bags! And I actually wasn’t as prepared as I thought. I found this lovely merino wool in sport weight and it was in a lovely shade of colours but I didn’t know what to do with it. I am still thinking about it after discovering it our first day here. But what am I going to do with it, besides adding it to my stash? I think it’s such a waste to turn it into socks and I think it would be really nice to turn it into a pair of lace gloves, but then my mom thinks its a waste to turn wool into gloves. Oh the dilemma. I didn’t even think to take a picture of the wool. But other than the picture of my birthday cakes in a previous post, I haven’t taken any pictures while on this trip. I think it’s probably because I am so familiar with this place, that really, it’s not necessary. It’s like meeting up with an old friend. I know what you look like. I know all about you or as much as you are willing to let me know and every so often, I’ll discover something new, like a new mall built in the last year or an old shop that I never really noticed before. So Old friend, I’m gonna visit your yarn shop later today and try to figure out what to do with this lovely merino wool and if that lovely yarn is not there anymore, then I’ll come and visit another time and discover something else.

I'd love to hear from you!

