Accomplishments!

As I mentioned in my last post, I discovered Pinterest.  But I think it will be a passing phase for me.  Sitting on my couch, surfing the web to find pictures to Pin?  Too much of a time waster!  Especially if I can be doing something more productive such as knit!

Voila!  My recent accomplishment.

IMG_0831

I used the lace pattern from Churchmouse Yarns & TeasLace Back Fingerless Gloves and the edging and thumb are from Susie Rogers’ Reading Mitts, pattern found on Ravelry.  I can’t wait to knit another pair, for myself this time.  This pair is now in the possession of Little B’s mom.

While in the process of prepping for this blog, my niece, Little Z decided to make her debut as a hand model.  Take a look!  Not bad for her first time eh?

Z's first modelling picture

One other very fresh accomplishment, finished just this morning, is my half shawl.  Half?  You wonder.  Half! I grumble.  It was not my intention to knit half a shawl, however I made the assumption that the person who created the pattern, knew how to write proper instructions.  If you are interested in knitting the shawl, you can find it on Ravelry.com.  It’s a free pattern.  If you want the name of the pattern, feel free to contact me.

I have to say that once knitted up, it is very pretty, however I have never encountered such a frustrating pattern ever and after reading the forum about this particular shawl, I am not the only one who was frustrated by the pattern.

     

If you are a knitter, no doubt you are wondering about my blocking method.  I don’t have the blocking wires, hence the scalloped edges.  This lovely piece will go to Little B.  She won’t mind that the edges are scalloped.  And I think it looks very pretty that way.

Anyways, I’m just starting on my Rock Island shawl.  This will be quite a project for me, especially since I’m using super fancy yarn this time:  Lorna’s Laces, Helen’s Lace in Grand Street Ink.  It’s 50% wool and 50% silk.  I’ve never knitted with anything so fancy and so fine.  It’s a little nerve wracking but I shall prevail.

So now you are all caught up with my projects.  And despite all my frustrations, I have found each and every one of these to be time well spent.

2 thoughts on “Accomplishments!

  1. Pingback: Happy Chinese New Year! « AuntiesFavourites

  2. Pingback: Quick Knit | AuntiesFavourites

I'd love to hear from you!

